Joan Miró Prize

In recognition of exploration, innovation, commitment and freedom in present-day artistic work

© Ralph Herrmanns. Joan Miró designin on the sand, 1970. Fundació Joan Miró, Barcelona. Donation of Ralph Herrmanns

The Joan Miró Prize is an international award for an artist at a breakthrough stage in his/her career regardless of age, gender or cultural identity. The prize, with support from Stavros Niarchos Foundation (SNF), pays tribute to the extraordinary work of Joan Miró, his significant contribution to modern art and his life-long support of younger artists.

The prize is awarded in recognition of recent work by artists demonstrating the same spirit of exploration, innovation, commitment and freedom that characterised Joan Miró's life and work. 

First awarded in 2007, the prize is conferred by an international panel of judges made up of acclaimed professionals in the field of contemporary creation.

The nominated artists for the 2023 edition of the Joan Miró Prize are Tala Madani, Tuan Andrew Nguyen, Frida Orupabo, Mika Rottenberg and Haegue Yang.

Jury for the Joan Miró Prize